News

Asia’s 50 Best Bars reveals the inaugural 51-100 list for 2021

New entry The Shady Acres (Hong Kong) clocked in at 68

Sri Lanka and Vietnam debut on the first ever 51-100 list for Asia’s 50 Best Bars 2021. By Holly Graham. 

The inaugural 51-100 list features bars from 22 cities across 12 countries in Asia with Japan boasting the most at 14 bars spanning five cities. Sri Lanka and Vietnam make a cracking debut on the list and India and Indonesia get more love, while Macau makes a welcome return. While some of last year’s 50 Best bars have dropped from the top 50 list, we look forward to seeing the room these make for changes on the main list, while two bars tie at number 94 and 100.

Asia’s 50 Best Bars will be revealed at 6pm on May 6, 2021, which can be watched on Facebook and YouTube at 6pm Hong Kong/Singapore time; 3.30pm India; 5pm Thailand and 7pm Japan. This will be preceded by a series of three bartender discussions entitled Breaking The Ice featuring Singapore’s Jesse Vida (Atlas) and Juan Yi Jun (No Sleep Club) on May 2; Hong Kong’s Agung Prabowo (Penicillin) and Summer Lo (Caprice Bar) on May 3 and Bangkok’s Niks Anuman (Asia Today; Teens of Thailand) and Suchada “Fah Beer” Sopajaree (Wasteland) on May 4.

For the list of Asia 50 Best Bars 51-100 2021, see below, a check back here on May 6 to see who makes the top 50:

51. The Back Room (Manila)
52. Asia Today (Bangkok)
53. Thaipioka (Bangkok)
54. The Old Man (Hong Kong)
55. Draft Land (Taipei)
56. Ishinohana (Tokyo)
57. Bar Landscape (Tokyo)
58. Coley (Kuala Lumpur)
59. Hoots’ (New Delhi)
60. Mixology Heritage (Tokyo)
61. Oto (Manila)
62. Lamp Bar (Nara)
63. Pussyfoot Saloon (Seoul)
64. Epic (Shanghai)
65. 8 1/2 Otto e Mezzo Bombana (Hong Kong)
66. Gibson (Singapore)
67. Rabbit Hole (Bangkok)
68. The Shady Acres (Hong Kong)
69. The Bellwood (Tokyo)
70. Employees Only (Singapore)
71. Ah Sam Cold Drink Stall (Singapore)
72. Bar Orchard Ginza (Tokyo)
73. Botanik Rooftop Bistro & Bar (Colombo)
74. Wishbone (Semarang)
75. Live Twice (Singapore)
76. Ne Cocktail Bar (Hanoi)
77. Summer Experiment (Ho Chi Minh)
78. Pahit (Kuala Lumpur)
79. The Other Room (Singapore)
80. Bar Rocking Chair (Kyoto)
81. 008 Bar (Bangkok)
82. Junior The Pocket Bar (Singapore)
83. A/A Bar (Jakarta)
84. Liquid Factory (Tokyo)
85. Sugar Ray You’ve Just Been Poisoned (Bangkok)
86. Mixology Bar (Seoul)
87. Mixology Salon (Tokyo)
88. Tender (Tokyo)
89. Soko (Seoul)
90. Mu (Taipei)
91. Smoke & Bitters (Hiriketya, Sri Lanka)
92. Southside Parlor (Seoul)
93. Smalls (Bangkok)
94. Ark Lounge (Aomori, Japan)  *tied with below
94. Bar D (Kanagawa, Japan) *tied with above
96. Hybrid (Nha Trang)
97. Pine & Co (Seoul)
98. Memento Mori (Tokyo)
99. Gen Yamamoto (Tokyo)
100. Goa Nights (Macau) * tied with below
100. Buccaneers Rum & Cocktails (Manila) *tied with above

Leave a Response